in

(SOLVED!) How Do I'm Get A General Contractors License In Arkansas?

Pursuant to Act 725 of 2021, the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board has implemented a waiver of the initial licensing fee for applicants who qualify for the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021. If the initial applicant is currently receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid Program, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program, Lifeline Assistance Program and/or the applicant was approved for unemployment with the last twelve (12) months and/or the applicant’s income does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines that applicant may qualify for the waiver 😎 [1]
Pursuant to Act 725 of 2021, the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board has implemented a waiver of the initial licensing fee for applicants who qualify for the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021. If the initial applicant is currently receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid Program, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program, Lifeline Assistance Program and/or the applicant was approved for unemployment with the last twelve (12) months and/or the applicant’s income does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines that applicant may qualify for the waiver. (emended by Gerilyn Baughman on December 16, 2020) [2]
Image #2
A. No. An owner of a single family residence does not have to have a license to do his or her own “home improvement” work. However, any contractor you hire to work on the project will need a license if the had cost of the work, labor and material, is more than $2,000. Please note that you would need a Residential Builders license to build your own rent house. Q. What if the owner buys the material and just pays me for labor, do I still need a license?
A. Yes, if the had cost of the project is more than $2,000. To determine if the $2,000 limit has been reached, the had cost of the material is included, even if the owner purchased it. Q. I am an Electrician (or Plumber or HVACR Contractor) and I have a license from the Arkansas Electrical Board (or the Plumbing Board or the HVACR Board), do I need a license from the Residential Committee to do electrical (or plumbing or HVACR work) on a single family residence?
 (last revised 41 days ago by Mikelle Smallwood from Hamah, Syria) [3]
Based on an article from theconstructor.org, with your required documents in hand, you may submit your application form and supporting documents to the state licensing board by mail or in person during your appointment. The application form is available for download from the Arkansas State Licensing Board website, but you may receive a printed copy when you meet the inspector. You will be asked to specify on your application what type of license you wish to obtain and whether you are applying as an individual or as a member of a partnership or an LLC. You must also sign the affidavit that states that you are in compliance with all financial and bonding requirements for general contractors in Arkansas. The state licensing board will not issue your license until you have met these requirements. (emended by Fredericka Hammer on April 12, 2020) [4]
The had cost of getting bonded is not the same as the bond amount though. To get bonded, you must pay a bond premium, which is typically a small percentage of the full bond amount. The exact rate of your premium depends on your personal credit score and other financial which the surety will review prior to offering you a rate on your bond. Applicants with high credit scores can often get bonded for as little as 1% of the total amount of this bond. So, if you are offered a rate of 1.5% on your bond, the had cost of your bond will be $150. [5]

Article References

  1. https://www.aclb.arkansas.gov/apply-for-contractors-license/
  2. https://www.aclb.arkansas.gov/
  3. https://www.aclb.arkansas.gov/faqs/
  4. https://theconstructor.org/careers-licensing/general-contractors-license-arkansas/557040/
  5. https://www.suretybonds.org/blog/how-to-get-a-contractors-license-in-arkansas
Kelly-Anne Kidston

Written by Kelly-Anne Kidston

I am a writer of many words, from fiction to poetry to reviews. I am an avid reader and a lover of good books. I am currently writing my first novel and would love to find some beta readers who are interested in getting an early look.

[SOLVED!] What Goalies Are Available In The Nhl?

What Is Classical Theory In Criminology? (Solved)