in , , , ,

[Solved] What Is The Penalty For Passing A Stopped School Bus In Nc?

Not only do you face the possibility of going to jail, you are also in danger of a negative impact on your driver’s license and insurance policy 👍 This is in addition to the unpleasant effect of having a criminal record on your file 🤓 Simply put, a conviction on your record could make things very unpleasant for you in the future 😁 This is why if you or your loved one is facing a charge of passing a stopped school bus, you should hire a North Carolina traffic lawyer immediately 🙈 At the Stowe Law firm, we are dedicated to providing the highest levels of representation to protect you. We will fight aggressively for you and ensure that you get the best possible results. [1]
Passing a stopped school bus violates G.S. 20-217(a), a Class 1 misdemeanor with a minimum fine of $500. A court appearance is mandatory, and the penalty cannot be paid and resolved by mail. Five driver’s license points are given to the driver; eight points if driving a commercial motor vehicle. If a driver violates G.S. 20-217(a) and strikes someone, he is guilty of a Class I felony. The driver pays a minimum fine of $1,250, and his license is revoked for two years. If the victim is killed, the penalty becomes a Class H felony. The driver must pay $2,500, and his license is revoked for three years. (modified by James Sanchez from Kansas City, United States on October 3, 2021) [2]
Image #2
We have all been there. You are already running late for work when you observe a school bus traveling in the opposite direction slowly coming to a stop, with its stop arm extending and its red lights flashing. You come to a complete stop and wait for the children to board the school bus. Motorists behind you are honking their horns, urging you to proceed down the roadway. You start to question whether the law requires you to come to a stop. When traveling in the opposite direction from a school bus, your duty to stop depends on what type of roadway you are traveling on. (modified by Sachiko Grady on April 23, 2020) [3] also explains how when must drivers stop? The driver of a vehicle that approaches a school bus from any direction on the same street, highway, or public vehicular area must stop and remain stopped when (1) the bus is displaying its mechanical stop signal or flashing red lights and (2) is stopped for the purpose of allowing passengers to board or leave the bus. G.S. 20-217(a). The driver of the other vehicle may not move, pass, or attempt to pass the school bus until after (1) the mechanical stop signal has been withdrawn, (2) the flashing red stoplights have been turned off, and (3) the bus has started to move. Id. (a massive thank you to Darelle Lewis for their suggestions). [4]
The researchers at provide us with further insight. Four years ago, the General Assembly increased the criminal fine for passing a stopped school bus and enacted new license revocation and registration hold provisions. During the previous year—2012—there had been more than 1,300 misdemeanor charges for passing a stopped school bus and three felony charges, two for unlawfully passing a stopped school bus and striking a person and one for doing so and causing death. Not much has changed. In 2016, there were 1,400 misdemeanor charges for passing a stopped school bus and three felony charges for doing so and striking a person. This year, the General Assembly took a different tack. S.L. 2017-188 (S 55) authorizes counties to adopt ordinances that enforce the provisions of G.S. 20-217 by means of automated school bus safety cameras and impose civil penalties for violations. (last revised 42 days ago by Nicholaus Downing from Delhi, India) [5]

Article References

Kelly-Anne Kidston

Written by Kelly-Anne Kidston

I am a writer of many words, from fiction to poetry to reviews. I am an avid reader and a lover of good books. I am currently writing my first novel and would love to find some beta readers who are interested in getting an early look.

How Do You Germinate Stubborn Seeds? (SOLVED)

How Long Does It Take To Become A Cryptographer? [RESOLVED]