in

Who Inherits If No Will In Virginia? (#1 Answer)

If a person does not have a will and they die, their assets pass according to Virginia’s laws of intestate succession 😎 Dying intestate means dying without a will 🙌 Virginia’s laws of intestate succession state that when a person dies leaving a spouse and children, one-third of the person’s assets pass to the spouse and two-thirds of the person’s assets pass to the children. All assets go to the spouse if the person has no children. If the person does not have a spouse or children, the assets pass to the decedent’s parents. Some laws also provide options for cases where a person dies leaving No surviving spouses, children or parents. [1]
If a parent is a single parent with three children, then the Commonwealth of Virginia law may allow all three of them to inherit equal amounts of the estate. If the parent was deceased, however, all three children can inherit equally. executed a last In their last will and testament they might not have left their entire assets to their children equally. One parent could have distributed greater amounts to one or more of their children during their lives. While the law of Canada will often act as a default in these cases, the wills of those who made wills before their death may be different. This was last revised 33 days ago, by Dishawn Baker from Bristol (United Kingdom). [2]
Image #2
Nolo.com Also, if your will is not in place and there’s no family to support you, then your assets will be “escheated” into state coffers. This is not a common occurrence, however. The laws were designed to give your property to any person even slightly related to you. If you die before your children or spouse do, then the property you have won’t pass to them. (See Virginia Code § 64.2-200.) Lawanda Miller, Gomel, Belarus (last updated 20 days back) [3]
Image #3
According to the experts, probatestars.com, “Next of kin” means any of the following persons, regardless of the relationship to the decedent: any person designated to make arrangements for the disposition of the decedent’s remains upon his death pursuant to § 54.1-2825, the legal spouse, child aged 18 years or older, parent of a decedent aged 18 years or older, custodial parent or noncustodial parent of a decedent younger than 18 years of age, siblings over 18 years of age, guardian of minor child, guardian of minor siblings, maternal grandparents, paternal grandparents, maternal siblings over 18 years of age and paternal siblings over 18 years of age, or any other relative in the descending order of blood relationship. This information was brought to our attention by Hina Lundy. [4]
Image #4

Refer to the Article

  1. https://trustandestateslawyers.com/virginia-trusts-and-estates-lawyer/wills/dying-without-will/disadvantages/
  2. https://trustandestateslawyers.com/virginia-trusts-and-estates-lawyer/probate/intestacy-process/
  3. https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/intestate-succession-virginia.html
  4. https://probatestars.com/who-are-next-of-kin-in-virginia/
Mehreen Alberts

Written by Mehreen Alberts

I'm a creative writer who has found the love of writing once more. I've been writing since I was five years old and it's what I want to do for the rest of my life. From topics that are close to my heart to everything else imaginable!